Having Lunch with Mr Bill Clinton, 1990

I met Mr Clinton at a restaurant around NTHU at Hsin Chu City in 1990.

 He gave me a business card titled “Home Delivery, Robert (R.C.) Clinton”.

From his 2005 May autobiography “My Life”, paperback edition,

I found out that there is a picture of his grandfather in his grocery store in Hope, Arkansas.

Therefore, that was Mr Bill Clinton for sure to give that name card in my sophomore year of NCTU in 1990.

We mentioned the privacy intrusion issue and my sister Melody Chang during the lunch in 1990.

Mr Clinton told me that he wondered if that was a financial issue.

I answered him that was not, but a reputation issue instead.

He quickly said some law terminology and glanced at me, which words I did not grasp very well.

Once he said we could be partners but soon he denied the chance.

He told me that he graduated from Yale University.

I said that I did not know this university, but I had a Yale key in my pocket.

Then he said that he had investigated the environment around my house at Taipei County.

What he said shocked me for a while.

Mr Clinton said Melody Chang’s problem out of this island was a colony.

At that moment I expressed disagreement.

“You could go to find assistance from Madam Chiang Soong Mei-Ling.”

“And we could be partners!”

“People would discriminate you when you seek Madam Chiang’s help.”

“Discriminating Madam Chiang Soong Mei-Ling?”

“I might sue you with this discriminating.”

“Who are you!(who do you think you are?)”

“I was an Attorney General…a prosecutor…a judge…”

“Really?”

“Yes, I was.”

After leaving the restaurant, Mr Clinton answered the lady.

He would go to Taipei City visiting other law or business university students.

Because this David of engineering could not comprehend the English he had said.

He seemed to show great respect for Hillary’s(Rodham) mother Dorothy at YWCA at Taipei City.

He said that was of good manners gentleman should be.(Be polite to women, although they are short.)

David CK Chang, SSN057-86-4042,
December 5, 2010,
National Central Library,
Taipei City

Leave a Reply

